Skip to content

The New American Girl

March 7, 2014

Bitch!” She scowled, as a lady friend pulled me away from a random girl on the dance floor.

 

I’d like to say it was one of those nights, but I simply had not experienced such a mood to this degree. Ever since I returned from Western Europe, my levels of interest have seen a stark decline. I no longer care to go out. I don’t volunteer myself for any cute, single friends. I don’t even introduce myself to women who eyeball me like I’m going out of style.

 

My experience reads like a bad happy tale of a man who’s checked out, or gone his own way. I’ve heard the countless number of complaints regarding the American girl: loud, masculine, unnecessarily arrogant, and empty. Many generalizations, fair and unfair, wrapped up into a single entity representative of an entire culture.

 

One might say that women are simply women, be they from the East or West. Oddly enough, I did not hear this counter argument from any women abroad; in fact, the women from the various countries seemed to have more to say to me regarding the American girls I put up with.

 

And Generally, they were right. If I could describe my experience in one word, it would be refreshing. Not all women are like that, Indeed.

 

Which leads me back to the night. Back to the night in which I finally went out, enjoyed myself, and just happened to receive a rather high amount of attention every two steps I took. I was eyed, followed on the dance floor, groped, smacked by whipping hair, and “accidentally” bumped into a few times.

 

Yet I didn’t waiver. Sometimes I looked and smiled, other times I simply relocated without giving the time of day. Rarely, I humored the approach.

 

All in all, this night got me thinking: I’ve gone thousands of miles away and realized that the grass will always be greener on the other side. So why bother?

 

But in a parallel twist, in my new “not even for a second” attitude, I realize that my behavior, on the surface, is no different from those which I despise. In avoiding those who find creative ways to open me, I’ve become what I hate – The American Girl.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

